The Community Design Excellence Award is given to a private developer, elected official or municipal employee/department—typically not a practicing Landscape Architect—who has recognized the role urban design and environmental excellence play in maintaining and enhancing the quality of life in Minnesota's towns and cities. Recipients have shown a strong commitment to the work of landscape architects, sustainable design, and place making. Examples of typical recipients include but are not limited to: a developer of a particular project, or body of projects, that enhances the built environment; an elected official who has sought to better a community through design; and a municipal employee/department who has excelled at helping shape the designed environment.

2017 Robert Engstrom
2015 Colleen Carey
2014 Paul Labovitz
2013 The Ackerberg Group
2012 Anne Hunt
2011 Cecily Hines
2010 Mayor R.T. Rybak
2009 Weiming Lu